Before you can register your vehicle in the state of Delaware, you must show proof that you carry the minimum liability coverage on your auto insurance policy. Here’s a guide to help you determine the best approach to buying auto insurance in Delaware.
Shop around for fair premiums. Before you snag up the first auto insurance policy in Delaware that seems reasonable, take some time to get a few quotes. Nearly every auto insurance company will offer you a slightly different rate (and some are even willing to beat competitor pricing). Flip through your local phonebook to find contact information for a few different auto insurance companies in Delaware. And then call for quotes. You might also consider checking out these useful online auto insurance quote sites:
In the state of Delaware, you’ll likely have to pay upwards of $1000 for an auto insurance policy.
Make sure your policy meets minimum requirements. Before you buy auto insurance in Delaware, ensure that you have met the minimum state liability coverage requirements. You need to carry at least $15,000 for single bodily injury, $30,000 for all injuries (or deaths), and $10,000 property damage coverage.
While Uninsured and Underinsured Motorists Coverage is not mandatory in Delaware, it still has to be offered to you. And it’s something that you need to consider, at least. In the event of an at-fault accident, you’ll have that bit of extra money to help cover the victim’s expenses, as well as your own. If you don’t want this kind of additional liability coverage, you’ll have to sign a waiver stating that it was offered to you and you declined.
It’s okay to exclude drivers from your auto insurance policy. In Delaware, it’s quite common to have household insurance policies that don’t include all drivers. You’ll need to state the exclusions explicitly in your policy. And once you do, driver’s coverage isn’t valid for those excluded drivers. Beware of allowing an excluded driver to drive your vehicle – it could cost you dearly in the long run since the driver won’t have coverage.
Consider the fine print. There are a few others things you need to consider when it comes time to buy auto insurance in Delaware. First of all, all auto insurance companies are legally allowed to perform a credit check on you. They can use your personal credit history to determine your insurance eligibility. They’ll also consider your age, driving record, neighborhood and type of vehicle before they will quote you a price for your auto insurance policy.
In addition, understand that Delaware is a tort state. So if you’re in an accident and it’s your fault, you will be responsible for paying any expenses incurred by the victim, including medical bills, auto repairs, loss of wages, pain and/or suffering. Because of this, it is highly recommended that you buy an auto insurance policy with higher liability coverage in the event that you’re in an at-fault wreck in Delaware.