If you are a citizen of Rhode Island, then you are required by law to carry proper auto insurance on your vehicle. This guide will help you determine what else you need to consider before you buy auto insurance in Rhode Island.
All policies are not created equal. If you are looking around to buy a new auto insurance policy in Rhode Island, it’s a good idea to talk to at least 3 or 4 different insurance companies before settling on any one of them. This is because each company will offer you slightly different products and rates. By shopping around first, you’ll be able to select the best policy for you. Look for ads in your local newspapers or yellow pages, or check with family and friends for insurance company recommendations. Don’t forget to look on the internet for some quick coverage quotes. Try http://www.statefarm.com/ and http://www.allstate.com/, or enter ‘Rhode Island auto insurance’ into your search bar. You’ll definitely have a few insurance companies to choose from.
In Rhode Island, you will pay around $1050 a year for insurance on your automobile.
Follow the state guidelines for liability coverage. When you buy or renew your auto insurance policy in Rhode Island, make sure that you meet the required state minimums for liability coverage. You must have at least $25,000 for single bodily injury, $50,000 for all bodily injury, and an additional $25,000 to cover any property damage as a result of the accident. You must sign a statement that you have and will continue to carry such insurance in order to register your car in Rhode Island.
Rhode Island is a ‘tort’ state, meaning that if you’re an at-fault driver in an accident, you and your insurance company will have to foot the victims’ bills in the accident. So while uninsured / underinsured motorists coverage is not required in Rhode Island, it’s a good idea to add this coverage to your auto insurance policy. It’s recommended that you carry at least $25,000 / $50,000 coverage in those areas. As with the limited liability coverage, these are just minimums and carrying more coverage on your policy gives you more peace of mind that your insurance company (and not you) will cover the bill after a wreck.
Exclusions are permitted. In the state of Rhode Island, the law allows for drivers in a household to be left off of an insurance policy. These drivers will be specifically listed in the ‘exclusions’ section of your policy, along with the circumstances under which your insurance company would not be responsible for paying any claims made by excluded drivers. Make sure you fully understand your insurance policy before agreeing to exclude any driver from insurance coverage on your vehicle.
Companies will consider your credit score and your past driving record. When you set out to buy auto insurance in Rhode Island, know that your credit score and your history as a driver will be considered before determining your auto insurance rates. Keeping a high credit score will improve your chances of being offered the best prices and products. But auto insurance companies will also look at your age, gender, location, and vehicle before setting your premiums for auto insurance coverage in Rhode Island.