If you want to legally register a vehicle in the state of Virginia, you’ll first need to show proof of auto insurance. Here’s a guide on how to buy auto insurance in Virginia that should help you determine that best coverage for you.
Talk to a few different insurance companies. As with any major purchase, you should put a little bit of thought into your auto insurance coverage before you buy a policy in Virginia. Talk to different auto insurance companies in your area and get some quotes for coverage on your vehicle. Consider the different coverage and premiums that each company offers. Some policies may be inexpensive, but those likely offer less coverage as well. Be sure you’re happy with the price and the coverage before you settle on any one auto insurance policy in Virginia. Talk to your favorite insurance company for a quote on auto insurance coverage, but also consider national companies like AllState and State Farm. Both usually have quite reasonable rates.
The average driver in Virginia pays around $680 a year for auto insurance.
(If your vehicle has little value to you, you can opt out of traditional insurance coverage in Virginia and instead, pay $500 for the uninsured motor vehicle fee (UMV). If you choose do to this, understand that you have no insurance coverage whatsoever.)
Know your minimum state requirements. Anyone purchasing an auto insurance policy in Virginia will be required to carry minimum liability coverage, as required by law. In Virginia, you must have at least $25,000 in single bodily injury coverage, $50,000 in total bodily injury or death coverage, and $20,000 in coverage for damages caused to property.
As a driver in Virginia, you should realize that it operates under the Tort system. This means that if you are in an at-fault accident in Virginia, you (or your insurance company) will get the bill for all of your victims’ expenses, including medical bills, auto repairs, loss of wages, and any fees related to pain and suffering. While it is not required that you carry Uninsured or Underinsured Motorists coverage in the state of Virginia, it is definitely recommended that you have at least some of the coverage. In the event of an accident, you want to be sure that your policy covers the costs, so consider getting this additional coverage as well as agreeing to higher liability coverage. You can never be too safe when it comes to your auto insurance policy in Virginia.
It’s okay to leave drivers off of your policy. As the primary policy holder in your household, you have the option of leaving members off of your insurance policy. Names of these excluded drivers will go in the exclusions section on your insurance policy and as such, your auto insurance company cannot be held responsible if an excluded driver were to be in an accident. Basically, excluded drivers aren’t covered in the state of Virginia, so ensure that you know the effects of such a decision before opting to leave anyone uninsured.
Your history plays a role in your premiums. When you apply for insurance in Virginia, it is legal for auto insurance companies to consider your personal credit history when determining your rates. They want to know if you’re going to be an insurance risk, or if you have a history of paying your bills on time. As well, they’ll consider your age, gender, location, vehicle, and past driving history when determining your coverage and auto insurance premiums in the state of Virginia.